Marijuana legalization is a hot topic around the world. Currently, five states have laws that make it okay to use recreational marijuana, and grow up to two plants for personal use. Those five states are Colorado, California, Utah, Oregon, and Alaska. Other states have medical marijuana laws in place, and many others are considering the legalization of the drug. Where does Alabama stand on marijuana legalization?

53008

Alabama is one state that has not decriminalized marijuana, so being caught with the drug in any amount is illegal and you may be arrested and charged with a crime. This includes marijuana for both personal use and the sales of the product. The state of Alabama is still pretty tough with their marijuana laws. The judges in the state will certainly not take It easy on you if you are found to be in possession of the drug.

Generally speaking, marijuana is classified as a misdemeanor offense. Possession of marijuana charges can lead to up to 11 months, 29 days incarceration, fines, fees, and other penalties if found guilty. If you are caught selling marijuana, the misdemeanor charge then becomes a felony with penalties that are far more severe. A felony conviction of marijuana possession can result in an incarceration period of no less than one year, and as long as 20 years. If you are caught selling marijuana to a minor, that penalty extends to 10 years up to life in prison.

If you are caught with a weight totaling 2.2 pounds or more of marijuana, you may be guilty of drug trafficking. A minimum of here years in prison and a fine of $25,000 are the consequences of drug trafficking marijuana. This is in amounts of up to 100 pounds. As you might imagine, the penalties worsen with the more that you have on you.

Possession of marijuana related paraphernalia is also punishable by law. Paraphernalia possession (grinders, weight scales, pipes, etc.) come with the same penalties as causal possession: you could face up to 11 months, 29 days in prison, in addition to fines. Cultivating marijuana in Alabama is also charged as a simple possession, as long as you are not growing more than 2.2 pounds. In this case the charge then becomes a felony.

All convictions of marijuana possession in the state of Alabama also include the penalty of a driver’s license suspension of at least six months.